The End of Marking Time by C. J. West

Name of book: The End of Marking Time

Author: C. J. West

Genre: Dystopian Suspense

Reviewer: Melissa

Summary: Sentenced to prison for theft, Michael is shot and winds up in a coma only to wake up years later and discover a new kind of prison – one where you are free, but not really.

Rating: 3

Reason for rating: This book was pretty hard for me to get into. At first I was like why should I care about the main character? He doesn’t seem to care about anyone, he pokes fun at his friends for wanting to settle down (I am in the process of settling down myself at the moment), he breaks into people’s houses, and is really kind of cocky about the whole thing. When he gets arrested I was like good – you got was you deserved. That said, I have always had a bit of a soft spot for dystopian literature and I really thought the concept was interesting. I’m just not sure it was executed as well as it possibly could be. I felt like there was a lot of telling me things instead of showing me and I understand that now because of the nature of the story. I really did come to care for Michael, but it took a long, long time. He still didn’t seem to care a lot of the time. Also, I didn’t like the ending. I thought it was unsatisfying. And kind of cruel. But it wasn’t bad – like I said, I liked the concept but it maybe wasn’t carried out the greatest.

Find The End of Marking Time on Amazon

Find The End of Marking Time on Goodreads

C. J. West’s Website

Disclosure: I was not paid for this review. I received a free copy of the e-book in order to provide my opinions about it. All opinions in this post are 100 percent mine.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. CJ West
    Oct 29, 2010 @ 11:11:48

    Thanks for reading Melissa. It is a bit of a risk choosing someone like Michael as a protagonist and it is a fine line to walk between making him likeable and realistic. I’ve found that most people care for him a bit too much, but I know the issues in this book are polarizing and don’t connect with everyone.

    Thanks for sharing your take.

    CJ

    Reply

Leave a Reply

